Reviews - Lavender Lodge B & B

Everything you could ask for.... - Rating 5/5

Lovely place! I ran the Chester ultra 50. And i had all i needed before and after the race. Good local restaurants to eat. Very comfy bed. Amazing shower. And a great breakfast the day after. The owner went above and beyond for us. Even a vegsn breakfast! Thankyou for such a comfortable stay.

Reviewer:Michael G | Mon 2nd Mar 2020 | 1 month ago


Very nice place to stay definitely recommended- Rating 5/5

Lovely bed and breakfast. Room very nice and clean. Breakfast was very good. Dietary requirements were accommodated for very well. Owner really made us feel welcome! Great place to stay if you don't mind a bit of a walk into town.

Reviewer:Laura Y | Mon 17th Feb 2020 | 2 months ago


Lovely place to stay !!. - Rating 5/5

We really had a good time whilst staying @ Lavender Lodge on our visit to the lovely city of Chester. The location of LL was ideal &very close to the area of Hoole which was an unexpected but very pleasant find on our stay. The City centre was a 15/20 minute walk away or a short bus journey. Cheshire Oaks outlet retail park was 15 minute drive heading back away from Chester. Frederika was an excellent host &looked after us very well.The facilities were very clean,welcoming &we could not find fault with anything. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choices, to set you up for the day.

Reviewer:JOHN K | Mon 16th Dec 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely little b and b - Rating 5/5

A nice little bed and breakfast no problems at all and in a nice location

Reviewer:Robert P | Mon 2nd Dec 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Well exceeded my expectations, lovely and clean, comfortable bed , very quite to say we were off the main road,easy walk in to town and also i nice walk along the Canal. Only wish breakfast at been a little later in the morning. Will definitely stay agsin.

Reviewer:Kathryn P | Mon 2nd Dec 2019 | 4 months ago


A luxury place to stay! - Rating 5/5

This will be my third stay at Lavender Lodge and it's definitely my first choice in Chester! Frederika is an exceptional hostess and you get five star warmth and comfort and little luxuries, even hot chocolate and biscuits. The breakfast is superb, and Frederika was so kind and served me earlier than the usual time as I had to get to work by 8.15am during my stay.

Reviewer:Dr. Frances M B | Thu 28th Nov 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely 2 night stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean hotel. We stayed for two nights and had a most enjoyable break. Our room was lovely and so nice to see the little things like toiletries, full tea/coffee tray and paperbacks to read! Lovely breakfast too and a special mention &thank you to Fredericka who made us feel very welcome! We hope to be back to see you again in the future when visiting Chester.

Reviewer:Mrs Barbara A M | Mon 18th Nov 2019 | 5 months ago


Lavender lodge - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming and attentive,very clean and comfortable.Really nice variety of yoghurts,fresh fruits,cereals and a really nice full English breakfast.within walking distance to Chester and a pub near by serving food.

Reviewer:Annette G | Wed 23rd Oct 2019 | 6 months ago


Beautiful place to stay - Rating 5/5

Amazing location where you can see the sites and surrounding area. The room was beautifuly laid out with touches of elegants. We were made welcome by the owner and the breakfast was very good giving us a combination of cooked and cereals with tea and coffee. Overall i would certainly reccomend it to others and would stay there again if we ever go back to chester.

Reviewer:Michael G | Mon 21st Oct 2019 | 6 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Great host, very friendly,The place was was clean and tidy.i would definitely stay there again

Reviewer:Freya P | Sat 12th Oct 2019 | 6 months ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We stayed a couple of days, hoping to see Chester and the surrounding area. In fact, there was so much to see, we didn't get out of chester ! Lavender Lodge is lovely, and Frederika, the owner, made us very welcome, and at ease.Our room was at the back, Frederika called it a garden room, and it was so, open the door and you were in the back garden! lovely on a warm evening, as a table and chairs were waiting. A veritable sun trap. The room was excellent, roomy and well equipped. The bed was larger than we expected, and despite the house being situated on a very busy road, we never noticed any traffic noise at all. All in all, we would heartily recommend this, and we may be back! Thank you Frederika. (oh, and the breakfast was great too !

Reviewer:Christopher W | Fri 20th Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


1st class place to stay - Rating 5/5

If visiting chester we will stay here every time

Reviewer:philip c | Thu 19th Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Lovely owner, nice room, great breakfast. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Scott L | Tue 17th Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Lavender Lodge for the first time this week.The room was spotlessly clean and most comfortable with attention paid to every detail.Breakfast was first class and piping hot.Will certainly recommend and stay here again when in Chester.Nothing too much trouble for our host Frederica.

Reviewer:Mairi O | Wed 11th Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

The Lavender lodge was a lovely place to stay for our 2 night visit to chester. The breakfast was especially nice. It was a 15 to 20 minute walk into chester which for us was fine. Fredrica was a lovely host nothing was too much bother. The only down side for us was that our room a garden room had a velux window and as it rained it kept us awake.

Reviewer:Julie g | Tue 10th Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Fabulous stay - Rating 5/5

From start to finish had a lovely time. Warm welcome very friendly and nothing too much trouble. Room beautiful very clean and everything you could need. Ideal location for Chester. Excellent breakfast. Definitely return.

Reviewer:James m | Sat 31st Aug 2019 | 8 months ago


Excellent stay. - Rating 5/5

The property looked exactly how it did in the pictures. Our room was spotless and a decent size for two people, the bed was comfortable and spacious for two adults. The room was quite hot but we had a fan which was brilliant to keep cool. There was a nice selection of teas/coffees in the room, and the cups we a great size for a decent cuppa.We had a big wardrobe too, so we both could hang our clothes up.Our room had an external bathroom, but we had dressing gowns in the room so we could wear them when needed the bathroom. The bathroom was very spacious, with plenty of toiletries. The shower was easy to work too.Both mornings we were there, we had a full English breakfasts and it was delicious. There was a selections of cereals, fresh fruit &orange juice.Fredericka (The host) was so lovely and brilliant, she was very helpful with directions into town and to the local shops, and different ways to walk into town.To walk into the city centre, it was about 20/25 minutes but it was a nice walk, seeing all the shops and things like that.The only slight issue was to park the car, we needed to reverse park and luckily, my partner reverse parks every time that he parks his car, so he did it without much trouble.

Reviewer:Abbigail W | Tue 27th Aug 2019 | 8 months ago


Excellent Chester Location. - Rating 5/5

Frederika and Son ensured a very enjoyable stay, in excellent accommodation, supported with a very good breakfast. Plenty of good restaurants/Pubs within a short walking distance.

Reviewer:Miles H | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 8 months ago


Highly recommended- Rating 5/5

This was our second time staying at Lavender Lodge. As always the accommodation was immaculately clean and comfortable.The breakfast is exceptional with fresh fruit, yogurts and cereals. Followed by cooked to order quality hot selection with a choice of bacon,sausage,eggs etc. I would highly recommend Lavender Lodge.

Reviewer:Jean A | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 8 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Only stayed the one night after having shopped at Cheshire oaks village and then travelling on for family birthday. The landlady was really welcoming and helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are more than adequate. Breakfast was really good with anexcellent full English. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Chester.

Reviewer:Mr Alan H | Sun 4th Aug 2019 | 8 months ago


excellent b and b - Rating 5/5

Lovely room with a nice garden patio. Cooked breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Paul M | Sat 3rd Aug 2019 | 8 months ago


Very comfortable- Rating 5/5

We stayed in Chester for a couple of days and 2 nights at Lavender Lodge.The welcome was warm and the room very clean and comfortable.We had two good nights of sleep on a very comfortable bed.The choice of eating establishments nearby was a great bonus and being able to walk into Chester in the day, avoiding parking costs was appreciated.

Reviewer:Stephen M | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 9 months ago


Welcoming and charming - Rating 5/5

We were delighted with this charming, well equipped B&B. Beautifully clean, delicious breakfast, lovely landlady and close to the town. Fabulous stay!

Reviewer:Teresa B P | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Great place to stay when visiting Chester - Rating 5/5

Welcoming Host, very good breakfast, great location, very comfortable bed, spotless rooms - what more could you expect.

Reviewer:David M | Thu 27th Jun 2019 | 10 months ago


Delightful accommodation - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable and comfortable 4 night stay in the twin room at the rear of Lavender Lodge.It was very quiet and the beds were comfy. I was very pleased that there was a radio by the bed. The highlight of the breakfast for me was the bowl of berries i.e. raspberries, strawberries, blackberries, blueberries and grapes. Frederika and Andrew were very friendly and helpful. The whole accommodation was very clean and well maintained. Reversing into the parking space was rather tricky though. Hoole Road is an excellent location for walking/bussing to the city centre and for access to very good local restaurants.

Reviewer:Joan D | Tue 18th Jun 2019 | 10 months ago


Lavender Lodge - Rating 5/5

. Had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend this to anyone looking for a reallynice place to stay.

Reviewer:BARRY H | Sun 16th Jun 2019 | 10 months ago


Beautiful B and B- Rating 5/5

I stayed here for 4 nights and I loved it. Fredricka was a lovely host and nothing to much trouble. I had a room at the back of the house off the garden. The room was clean and had everything I needed. The bed was so comfortable. The house is on a busy road but I didn’t hear a thing. It was close to a bus stop if you wanted to go into Chester or Liverpool.Would recommend to anyone to stay here.

Reviewer:Anita M | Fri 31st May 2019 | 11 months ago


Lavender Lodge Chester - Rating 5/5

Warm, friendly, inviting, comfortable and good food. It was one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in and I would certainly go back again.

Reviewer:Steven C | Thu 25th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Well worth a stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation ,clean and comfortable with hearty breakfasts. Very friendly owner, nothing was too much trouble. Well situated and within walking distance to Chester . Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Reviewer:Robert H | Mon 8th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Top notch bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

I chose Lavender Lodge as a good priced accommodation which was within walking distance of the city centre and which offered a good breakfast choice. We were not disappointed in any way. Fredericka was very welcoming, efficient and helpful. Her house and facilities were spotless. We lacked for nothing.

Reviewer:Jill D | Sun 31st Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


Peter Manser - Rating 5/5

Excellent room, a fabulous breakfast and genuinely very warm and friendly.I would happily recommend Lavender lodge especially for anyone visiting Chester Zoo or travelling by road from the south for the ease of access Via the A55 Southerly Bypass.

Reviewer:Peter M | Wed 6th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


Family visit - Rating 5/5

We found Lavender Lodge to be very clean and comfortable and a good location for the sights of Chester. Our hostess was very welcoming and friendly and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast. Would definitely stay here again and recommend this accommodation to travellers.

Reviewer:Victor W | Tue 18th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

The stay was fantastic as always.Frederika is lovely. The rooms are always immaculate and the breakfasts are delicious. I can recommend Lavender Lodge to everyone.

Reviewer:Ian P | Fri 9th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation, nice walk into Chester. Spotlessly clean, room was lovely with comfortable bed and pillows. Courtesy tray well stocked, nice touch to have filter coffee on tray as well, which my husband loved. Would certainly recommend.Attention to detail by owner was excellent

Reviewer:Eileen C | Tue 23rd Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Quality, Friendly B&B - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a 2-night stay in this lovely B&B. Received a warm welcome from Frederica, who also gave us some great recommendations about places to eat, including the Faulkner pub nearby. Room was excellent:well-decorated, comfortable bed, well-designed bathroom. What stood out for us was the quality and the thought that has been put into detail. Breakfast was very good, quality ingredients. We had full English one day, then scrambled eggs with smoked salmon the next. We didn’t try the selection of fresh berries but they looked lovely. Can’t recommend Lavender Lodge high enough. I’m certain we’ll return when next in Chester.

Reviewer:Paul W | Sat 13th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely rooms, delicious breakfast, friendly welcome - Rating 5/5

I stayed in a family room and it was really comfortable, everything was of fantastic quality. The breakfast was delicious and filling. The hosts were so friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Sylvia O | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Friendly and helpful - Rating 4/5

Fredrika was a charming, friendly hostess who did all she could to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Reviewer:Dr Jenny T | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed over the bank holiday weekend. Had booked a double room but was put in the lovely large family room at no extra cost. Also the breakfast was cooked to perfection as my husband likes his bacon really crispy! Would recommed this b&bIn a perfect location for shops and train station.

Reviewer:Christine J | Wed 9th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Another great stay - Rating 4/5

We had another lovely stay at Lavender Lodge. Francsca is a great host. Lovely room with all you need for a restful stay, best full English and close to Chester centre. Thank you and see you next year.

Reviewer:Mr. Tony C | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Mr and Mrs P Chisholm - Rating 5/5

Excellent Accommodation.Very clean and comfortable.Attention to detail has been given to all aspects of the Lodge.First class service at breakfast and the house is beautifully maintained. .Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:peter c | Thu 3rd Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


WonderfulStay - Rating 5/5

Excellent location, lovely clean and comfortable room. Very good breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. David C | Wed 24th May 2017 | 2 years ago


as good as ever - Rating 5/5

After nearly ten years since my last visit I can report that the standards of accommodation and breakfast are as good as ever!

Reviewer:Mr. David H | Sun 14th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Great to stay there - Rating 5/5

Perfect location to walk into Chester. This B &B is one of the best around with great food, hospitality and comfortable bedroom.The owner was so helpful in point out the sights to see in and around Chester.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan B | Fri 23rd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


First Class B&B, beautiful rooms, excellent all round. - Rating 5/5

This was my second stay here, and I will certainly be back, if I visit Chester again. All the rooms are elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. Visitors are given every little luxury, such as filter coffee, hot chocolate and luxury cookies on the courtesy tray, a huge range of toiletry items in the bathroom, books to browse, good free wi-fi, and most excellent, hearty breakfasts. There is parking space at the front;VERY easy walking distance from shops and local restaurants &pubs... and the room rates are exceptionally reasonable for all this luxury.

Reviewer:Mrs. Frances B | Sun 3rd Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Two nights - Rating 4/5

Excellent facilities and splendid breakfast.A small point, bedside lights could be more suitable for reading.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith H | Fri 20th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Great location for our stay - Rating 4/5

Great location for Chester and plenty on the door step. Room was spotless clean but a tad tight for space but it was our choice for a room for three. The welcome was friendly and the owner recommended some great local eating places especially the Faulkner. Slept well each night (3 night stay) My daughter loved the in room biscuits. The Owner was most helpful friendly. My only moan was when I asked for a poached egg on the last morning "sadly they do not do"why they are so easy to cook.If we stayed in the area again we would have no hesitation in staying here. Chester Zoo a must visit as so close.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pamela H | Fri 30th Oct 2015 | 4 years ago


Great place to chillaxe. - Rating 5/5

This was our second visit. Both times have been A1. The bonus this time, for our taste, was being in the garden room. Breakfast is brilliant both for choice and quantity. Will definately be back again. Thanks to Fredrica and staff

Reviewer:Mrs. Julia A | Mon 17th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


just a night - Rating 4/5

comfortable and welcoming, lovely fruit for breakfast, scrambled egg not great though. clean, tidy place well decorated and appointed.

Reviewer:Ms. anne f | Wed 17th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a very comfortable stay at Lavender Lodge, lovely room, attention to detail and a warm welcome. Breakfast was excellent, particularly the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and the bowl of fresh summer fruits. Easy walking distance from Chester city centre.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rosamond H | Sun 14th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Chester weekend break - Rating 5/5

An excellent weekend break greatly assisted by our two night stay at Lavender Lodge.Our accomodation was very comfortable along with a hearty and well cooked breakfast,served by friendly and efficient staff.Would happily reccomend and would stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Marjory L | Mon 11th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

A lovely hotel, not too far to walk into Chester. We were made to feel very welcome, and breakfast and the room ( a garden one) was lovely. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. LucyG | Mon 15th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


A very enjoyable stay at Lavender Lodge - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed staying at Lavender Lodge.The room was lovely and the breakfast delicious.The river is close by and you can walk along it to Chester city centre.We would definitely stay again at Lavender Lodge.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rachel B | Mon 10th Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


Very comfortable! - Rating 5/5

This was a very comfortable and pleasant stay. The hosts are very friendly and forthcoming!

Reviewer:Mr. Christian M | Wed 22nd Oct 2014 | 5 years ago


A plesant stay - Rating 5/5

We visited Cheshire qand North Wales, and we've chosen Lavender Lodge for we stayed there twice before. We had a warm welcome again, and found well furnished rooms. The breakfast was delicious. The staff was firendly and helpful. In all - we had a very pelsant stay, and we would recommend Lavender Lodge to all visitmng Chester.

Reviewer:Mr. Torsten S | Tue 16th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Weekend Stay - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely weekend here, room was very comfy &very clean, small bathroom, but beautifully decorated and very clean with everything you need supplied. Lovely homemade breakfast, the owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Only down side was extremely tight parking. So if you own a large 4x4 will struggle if hotel was full. Parking allowed on road outside, but very, very busy. Great place to explore Chester from as close to everything, really enjoyed and would highly recommend

Reviewer:Mrs. Lisa O | Wed 27th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Great B & B - Rating 5/5

Was a great B &B with a wonderful host. We had rooms out the back in the garden which were very private &great. Was a great location within easy walking distance of the town centre

Reviewer:Mrs. Fay R | Sat 7th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Lovely weekend in Chester - Rating 5/5

We Booked Lavender Lodge for a weekend away. We arrived on the Friday night and was given a very warm welcome and was told where we could get a nice meal. The room was very comfortable and had everything that was needed.The breakfast was very nice and included fresh fruit, yogurt cereal aswell as a large full english.The lady and staff were all very helpful including the easiest way in to town. We had a lovely time there and if we returned would definatley book at lavender lodge again and would recomend it to friends

Reviewer:Mr. Robert B | Tue 3rd Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


What a find! - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for a much needed break this w/end &what a lovely B&B. The decor in our room was so pretty &the bed was so comfy, the room was light &airy (having the two windows). The breakfast was delicious &plentiful &Frederika was very friendly &informative about the area. We will definately be returning.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynn P | Mon 8th Apr 2013 | 7 years ago


Our stay at Lavender Lodge on the weekend of the 22-02-13 - Rating 5/5

Stayed for the second time and still can't fault it had a wonderful stayMany Thanks Lynda and Craig

Reviewer:Miss. Lynda W | Mon 25th Feb 2013 | 7 years ago


Chester Mini Break - Rating 5/5

Everything about Lavender Lodge was excellent we will certainly be staying there again on our next trip to Chester.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel F | Sat 23rd Feb 2013 | 7 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A late booking - made to feel very welcome. Room with a very comfortable Double bed and a good sized comfortable single for our teenage daughter. Ideally placed on the edge of Chester. An excellent breakfast. Good value and will not hesitate to stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel L | Thu 8th Nov 2012 | 7 years ago


A week in Chester - Rating 5/5

We've just returned from a lovely week in Chester staying at the Lavender Lodge.The landlady and the breakfast gentleman were both extremely friendly and nothing was too much for them!There was a good choice for breakfast - both hot and cold - and I was well catered for as I am gluten free.We were in one of the garden rooms and this was delightful with all mod cons.The only problem was that there were no windows and only a skylight which was fine if the sun was shining but when it rained we had to close it and the room did become rather stuffy.Overall, we had a great week and would return again,Thank youGill

Reviewer:Mrs. Gill D | Mon 27th Aug 2012 | 7 years ago


An Enjoyable Stay - Rating 5/5

An immaculate, cozy room made our stay at the Lavender Lodge very enjoyable.An array of information on the sights was available in the entrance way.The breakfast room was lovely and the breakfast was delicious.The offering of salmon and eggs was a nice change from the traditional offerings.The hostess and host were friendly and engaging which made us feel welcome.

Reviewer:Ms. Andrea C | Tue 3rd Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


A Great Family Stay! - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming and friendly B&B. Perfect for families as it's very clean and safe and Frederika couldn't have been more helpful. We only stayed for one night but would definately stay again for longer and I would recommend the Lavender Lodge to anybody.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris P | Thu 28th Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


stay comments - Rating 4/5

exellent stay, the room was well equiped and spotless. You could walk into Chester in about 20 minutes, with Hoole village just on the doorstep with shops and resturants. Breakfast is exellent. would certainly stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Steven L | Fri 6th Apr 2012 | 8 years ago


Excellent Service - Rating 5/5

Great location, handy for the city centre. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. I would highly recommend Lavender Lodge for anyone visiting the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Daniel A | Thu 4th Aug 2011 | 8 years ago